Hunting for Lake Glass on the Beaches of Rogers Park, Chicago

What are the best beaches in Rogers Park Chicago for finding lake glass?

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
14 min readAug 15, 2021

--

Glass Beach in California is all sea glass but tourists are prohibited from taking any Floris van Breugel/Travel the Whole World

I remember first learning about sea glass when I was watching Martha Stewart. She had managed to find, (or rather her assistants managed to find), enough to create an entire table top from the large mostly oblong or pebble shaped colored glass. I was impressed and a new dream hobby was born. Spending time on the beach, searching for this beautiful glass that you could use in craft projects — what could be better?

I was in school in Florida at the time, and even though I was in North Central Florida, my boyfriend and I spent two weekends on the Gulf coast and the other two on the Atlantic coast. The weekend after I’d seen Martha talking about it, I announced to my boyfriend that we were going to look sea glass and I started out towards the water enthusiastically. I was certain that I’d find a bag full of beautifully shaped pieces in all colors.

My boyfriend and I both looked for a while and we found some nice shells but no sea glass. My boyfriend lost interest sooner than I and retired to the chairs for a beer. I kept going, wanting to find at least one piece to make the dream hobby worth it but didn’t last more than another half an hour. Having no luck, I dragged by feet…

--

--

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.

I write about behavioral health & other topics. I’m Managing Editor (Serials, Novellas) for LVP Press. See my other articles: https://hubpages.com/@nataliefrank